1024 Network Receiver Crashes Quartz Builder

spaloo's picture

Hi,

I've been using this forum for several months now and the knowledge here has been a great help to me, but this is my first post. I am developing a set of compositions that generate synchronized output to 6 screens. My setup is a 'master' comp that displays diagnostic info and a preview of the synchronized output and 6 'slave' compositions that actually generate the content for each screen. In order to synchronize the content on each screen I am using the 1024_network(send/receive) patches to send control parameters. This works great in QC, but when I attempt to create Quartz Builder apps from the 6 'slave' comps Quartz Builder crashes. The crash happens as soon as I load the slave comp as the target - before I even attempt to build the app. I noticed that if I remove the 1024 network receiver patch it no longer crashes.

Has anyone else encountered this problem? Are there any known workarounds?

gtoledo3's picture
Re: 1024 Network Receiver Crashes Quartz Builder

Quartzbuilder is a 32 bit runtime. Maybe the _1024 plugin was compiled 64 bit only and not universal. Just a hypothesis.

spaloo's picture

Thanks for your suggestion, but I don't think that's the problem since I've been running QC in 32-bit mode while using the 1024_network patches.

Alternatively, I've tried using the OSC sender/receiver, which works except that the values remain uninitialized on the receiver end until they are changed for the first time on the sender end. If there's not a straightforward solution to the 1024_network issue perhaps there is an easy way to force all values sent through OSC to update?

gtoledo3's picture

It looks like it starts trying to configure itself or do something with the network when QB loads it (? )... something about NetService, it trying to get the Server address... I'm unsure exactly why, but then it segfaults.